Singleton strengthens John Bull Shield line-up


The finest talents from the Coalfields Cup will be showcased this Sunday.

The Singleton District Cricket Association will playoff against reigning John Bull Shield winner Cessnock from 10:00am at Branxton’s Miller Park.

Only four SDCA players (PCH’s Jake Mackaway, Valley’s Isaac Barry, JPC’s Alex Thrift and Creeks’ Jarrod Campbell) have been selected from Singleton’s most recent head-to-head meeting with Cessnock on January 17, 2021.

That afternoon, Cessnock proved to strong for the visitors as the association journeyed toward a 10th John Bull Shield title.

This week the Singleton line-up will be bolstered by in form Creeks pair Dan Tracey and Nathan Stableford, reigning PCH premiership players Barton Jones and Jackson and Brad Cox and 2019 SDCA Player of the Year Shane Givney (JPC).

Jackson Cox has also been selected as captain, adding to his honours as SDCA first grade premiership captain in 2018/19 and 2020/21.

2022 John Bull Shield competition
Round 1 – January 30Singleton vs. Cessnock
Round 2 – February 13Upper Hunter vs. Singleton
Round 3 – February 22Cessnock vs. Upper Hunter
John Bull Shield Final – March 6TBD