June 22, 2024 4:50 PM

Scone Open win for Alsleben



Mick Alsleben won the Scone Open A. G. White Cup.

He scored a fine round of 5 under par 67 at Scone Golf Course on Sunday, April 30. This equalled the “Best Score with preferred lies from the white tees” previously set by the runner up Mac Dawson who had 69. The Bob Robb Cup Stableford winner was also a Scone player Seb Curry who had 44 points, three ahead the runner up from Murrurundi, Robert Mostyn.

Fortunately the overnight rain abated and a fine day ensured for the 94 players from nine visiting clubs. The prizes extended down to sixth place in each grade due to the generous sponsorship of the club’s valued supporters the Isis Motel, Farrams and Muswellbrook Golf Shop.
These were distributed on stableford points with the winners being: A Grade- 1st Jeb Hardy 39, 2nd Andrew Harrison 37, 3rd Tony O’Neill 37, 4th Jono Keep 35, 5th Adam Finn 35 and 6th Luke Stevens 35 points on a countback.

(Story supplied)

In B Grade prizes were won by – 1st Craig Avard 38, 2nd David Bramley 37, 3rd James Coward 36, 4th Col Solway 36, 5th Daryl Dutton 36, 6th Glen Googe 36 points.

The C Grade winners were- 1st Chris Wilson 40, 2nd Graham Newton 37, 3rd David Bradshaw 37, 4th Milton Reid 37, 5th Kyden Weitz 36, 6th John Rarity 35 points.

The long drives were won by Murray Considine, Dan Malone and Kyden Weitz in each grade.
The NTP’s were shared around being won by Mick Curry 2.13 metres on the 4th, Jeb Hardy 0.77 metres on the 8th, Matt Hobbs 1.30 metres on the 13th and Col Solway 6.8 metres on the 17th.

The day would not have been such as success without the assistance from many members prior to and during the day and the course staff and volunteers who had the course in splendid condition.

The event on Saturday April 29, was an 18 Hole Individual and 2B Stableford sponsored by Col Solway. It was also Round 2 of the Captain’s Trophy which was won by David Bradshaw with 77 points. The 2Ball winners were Matt Langan & Matt O’Donnell who had 46 points, and the best individual round was by Rod Vaughan with 41 points.

There were some extra NTP’s with Barb Hobbs winning the 6th in 2 shots at 4.8 metres and Mac Dawson winning the 9th in 2 shots at 1.99 metres. The usual NTP’s went to Jeff Harrington 5.1 metres on the 4th, Charlie Wintle 2.3 metres on the 8th,Matt Langan 2.53 metres on the 13th and Michael Morton 1.35 metres on the 17th.

The ladies played 18 Hole Stableford on Thursday April 27, sponsored by Dinie Bishop. The winner with a top round was Kathy Robinson with 42 points from runner up Mary Brennan who had 39 points.Dordie Bragg won the NTP on the 8th.

Good scores were also had in the 18 Hole Medley Stableford concluding Friday April 28, with the winner
being Cameron French on 40 points ahead of runner up Charlie Wintle 36 on a countback from two others.

The big events for the club continue this week with the ladies hosting their open day on Thursday May 4, contesting the Manning Cup. A good field is entered for the shotgun start event.

On Saturday May 6 the event will be an 18 Hole Stroke / Stableford for the Monthly Mug and the weekly Medley Stableford will conclude on Friday May 5. (Story supplied)