Roger remains Singleton’s golfing great


The Singleton Golf Club’s biggest names will be returning to town this month to celebrate the club’s centenary.

For the region’s next generation of golfers, they will have an opportunity to meet club legend Roger Worms who has been living in Queensland since 1990.

Many still consider the 12-time club champion as one of Singleton’s greatest golfers.

“It gives me great honour to be in that category because I know we had a lot of great golfers,” Worms told The Hunter River Times.

“Brucey Boyle was there in the early days and he went on to play in a lot of big tournaments so I am very proud to be in that category.

“Even though Dad (Kaye Worms) isn’t here I know he was proud of those championships as well which made me extremely happy.”

Roger won his first Singleton A-Grade title in 1974 at the age of 16, the same age his uncle Bill Wood won his first of four Singleton titles in 1952.

By the age of 21 he added a Hunter Valley championship to the CV and then made history as the club’s first six-time winner in 1980.

“Golf was just part of our life at the time and I was just lucky enough to win quite a few club championships while I was there,” he reflected.

He won a further six in Singleton and then another four club titles in Queensland including the 1990 Champion of Champions title.

Despite now calling Queensland home for half a lifetime, he still holds Singleton close to his heart.

“Mum and Dad were recognised and respected at the club so you had to greet ‘Mr Harrison, Mr Curnow and Mr Carruthers’ etc,” he concluded.

“It was very strict.”

Roger’s paternal grandfather Lew Worms was the president of the club in 1955 when the current clubhouse was opened while his maternal grandfather Roger Wood did not take long to find the iconic course.

“When we left Ganmain they had a big farewell for the family because Mum and Dad and Bill all played,” Roger’s mother Margaret said.

“The first thing Dad did when we moved to Singleton in 1950 was join us all up to the Golf Club.”

*Since 1946

14 – Nathan Bagnall (1996, 2004-06, 2008-12, 2014, 2016-17, 2019, 2021)

12 – Roger Worms (1974-75, 1977-81, 1983, 1985-87, 1989)

6 – Glenn Marcheff (1994-95, 1999, 2001, 2007, 2013)

5 – Bruce Boyle (1961-65)

5 – Rodney Taylor (1982, 1988, 91-93)

4 – William ‘Bill’ Wood (1952-53, 55-56)

4 – Tim Harrison (1959, 1971-72, 1990)

4 – Robert ‘Bert’ Burgess (1946, 1948, 1950-51)

3 – Chad Vesper (2015, 2018, 2020)

3 – Edward ‘Teddy’ Phillipson (1969-70, 1973)