Singleton set to host future Cricket NSW tournaments


The next generation of women’s cricket talent had an opportunity to hone their craft in Singleton this week.

Both Howe Park and Cook Park played host to the inaugural Cricket NSW Country Youth Championships for under-15 girls with nine teams competing.

Cricket NSW’s Youth Championships officer Jess McMahon hopes this week will mark the first of many state tournaments to be hosted by Singleton.

“As soon as I saw the venues a few months ago I said this was perfect,” Miss McMahon told The Hunter River Times.

“This week has been a success due to the commitment of Singleton’s groundskeepers for producing pristine fields ready to go.”

The local Hunter Valley team played host to travelling sides from Newcastle, Central Coast, Illawarra, Riverina, Western, Mid North Coast, Northern Inland and North Coast.

Even if this championship expands to 16 teams, to match the boys in the coming years, McMahon believes Singleton could still host an eight team Northern Pool.

This news was music to the ears of Singleton mayor Sue Moore who was on hand for the coin toss of the opening match between Illawarra and Western at Cook 1 on Tuesday morning.

“Thank you for being here, congratulations for being the first teams to play here and we look forward to hosting many more,” Cr Moore declared.

Another interested onlooker was Singleton cricket historian Mick Akrill.

Two decades earlier, he umpired the final of the NSW PSSA girls cricket tournament held at Howe Park.

That tournament produced five future topflight talents including current Australian captain Meg Lanning AM, Ellyse Perry and Alyssa Healy.

Front row – Sophie Clune, Laura Knipe, Felicity Wharton, Madison Kedwell, Chloe Nguyen and Isabella Bliss.
Back row – Chris Wharton, Ruby Morrison, Jasmine Old, Evie O’Brien, Molly Dare, Charlotte Kelly and Alex Cook.
Hunter Valley
Back row – Paul Brownlee (team manager), Betty Watkins, Imogen Brownlee, Monique Krake, Stella Carstens, Sasha Paterson, Reagan Merrick and Emelia Kavanagh (coach).
Front row – Megan Visser, Camille Chevalley, Charlotte McEwan, Airlie McAlary, Claire McAlary and Alice Puxty.
Back row – Cath Wood (coach), Guinevere Drumore, Sarah Oliver, Isabaelle Kreutzberger, Brydie Davis and Evelyn Niedzwiedzki.
Front row – Aynslee Dauth, Jacueline Kuhn, Tilly Tainton, Khylo Gardiner, Evie Henley and Lila Henley.
Central Coast
Back row – Jess Holmes (assistant coach), Jean Allen, Anouk van’t Wel, Elke van’t Wel, Julia Marques Cox, Sophie Homan corless, Amy The, Veronica Brown (coach).
Front row – Olivia Mitchell, Zara Hepplewhite, Alex Bobbi Smith, Sarah Abel, Ella Davidson, Scarlett Sheridan and Rejoice Mudavose.
Northern Inland
Back Row – Claire McGuirk (coach), Kate Gunder, Taryn Kirk, Kyanne Fowler, Xanthe Hewitt, Mackenzie Keeler, Eddie McGuirk (assistant coach).
Front Row – Olivia Semmler, Marnee Walters, Olivia Merchant, Georgie Leonard, Ellie Merchant, Hollie Woodbury, Charlette Keeler.
Back Row – Rob Dimmick (coach), Romy Trenerry, Lucy Mellis, Karly Woods, Emily Fairman, Lillian Harrison and Allan Dhatt (coach)
Front Row – Milla Cole, Poppi Stephen, Lily Railz, Phoebe Johnston, Holly Reed, Simmon Dhatt, Emma Rippon and Olivia Dimmick.
Mid North Coast
Back row – Adam Broderick (coach), Ava Paterson, Riely McLeod, Murphy Hutchings, Summa Sneddon, Arabella Roohan, Lola Welsh, Zayia Page and Michael Roohan.
Front Row – Zara Hetherington, Tess O’Sullivan, Ciara Peters, Sophie Preston, Lane Jordan and Annika Kilmore.
North Coast
Back row – Clare Webber, Annabelle Mathews, Bonnie Crimson, Emma Kerr, Bianca Dyson, Hannah McNeil and Mick Young (team manager).
Front row – Ruby Nix, Anwan McDougall, Cossette Thomas, Mollie Young and Stephanie Scouller.
Greater Illawarra
Back row – Craig Bramble (coach), Molly Lynch, Jasper Robinson, Jessica Bramble, Neve Smart, Farrah Cody, Amelia Valdez and Andrew Malcolm (coach).
Front row – Georgia Lovegrove, Ella Yates, Madison Malcolm, Cadence Waters, Kiana Dovern, Ebony Winston and Nicola Hudson.