Big things to come from Group 21


A long list of Group 21 junior talents travelled to South West Rocks last Wednesday for school representative trials.

Denman teenager Diesel Hagan (South Newcastle) and Luke Marco (Muswellbrook Rams) were both named in the Northern NSW under-18 boys’ team while Sarah Shankley, Malaki Poa, Georgina Pratley and Ashleigh Loft (Scone Thoroughbreds), Leila Markham and Mackenzie Day (Denman Devils) and recent Muswellbrook Rams’ premiership talents Kyah Johnston and Evie Jones all made the Northern NSW girls’ line-up.

Casey Milton, Angus Sullivan (Aberdeen Tigers), Mitchell Rousell (Muswellbrook Rams) and Braith White (Scone Thoroughbreds) were selected in the in the under-16 boys’ side.

The girls’ line-up was dominated by Group 21 talent as Georgia Clydsdale, Jessica Borg and Lilly-Jane Williams (Singleton Greyhounds), Summer Dowell, Macey Cox and Sophie Hedley (Scone Thoroughbreds) and Madison Hall (Denman Devils) were all selected in the girls’ side.

The under-16 trials also featured many Group 21 junior talents from a number of local clubs.

Back row: Scarlett Hagan (Denman Devils), Chelsea Chilcott, Tyla Matthews (Singleton Greyhounds), Alyssa Carrall (Merriwa Magpies), Georgia Clydsdale (Singleton Greyhounds) and Madison Hall (Denman Devils).

Front row: Macey Cox, Sophie Hedley, Summer Dowell (Scone Thoroughbreds), Jessica Borg (Singleton Greyhounds), Hallie Daniels (Denman Devils) and Lilly-Jane Williams (Singleton Greyhounds).

The Northern NSW boys team will play in May while the girls’ side will play in August.

There selectors will pick players for the Combined Catholic Colleges representative side to play at the Australian Secondary School Rugby League Championships to be held in September.