GALLERY: Australia Day in Muswellbrook

On Friday January 26 we had journalists attend services in Cessnock, Muswellbrook and Singleton.

Not every photo we take can make it into the paper, as much as we would love for them to, so here is a collection of our photos from the services we wanted to share with our community.

Here are our photos from the Muswellbrook Shire Council service

The Waagan Galga Dance Troupe opened proceedings at the Muswellbrook Shire Council Australia Day Ceremony.
Muswellbrook mayor Steven Reynolds with the nominees for 2024 Citizen of the Year Dr Del Mullins, Dr Mark Rickard Bell, Chris English, Melissa Walsh and Barbie Turvey.
Dr Del Mullins and Dr Mark Rickard Bell were named Muswellbrook Shire Citizen of the Year, pictured with mayor Steven Reynolds.
Nominees for Young Citizen of the Year Charli-Rose Wilson, Chanelle Wilson, and Charlise Anderson with Muswellbrook mayor Steven Reynolds. Yasmin Jimmieson was also nominated but could not attend the service.
Muswellbrook mayor Steven Reynolds presenting Charlise Anderson with the Young Citizen of the Year accolade, Yasmin Jimmieson was also named as a recipient of the recognition.
Nominees for the various categories who were being recognised for their community, arts and culture, sporting and environmental work.
Dominic White accepting the Community Group of the Year award on behalf of the 2023 Muswellbrook Lady Cats AFL team, with Muswellbrook mayor Steven Reynolds.
Muswellbrook councillor Darryl Marshall presenting the Services to Sport award to Kristine Agosto.
Councillor Amanda Barry presenting Young Sportsperson of the Year to Charli-Rose Wilson.
Samantha Cobcroft (right) was acknowledged for her volunteering in town with the Arts and Culture Award, presented by councillor Louise Dunn.
Two years of tireless work of staff and students alike was recognised with the Muswellbrook South Public School Green Team was awarded the Sustainability Award, which was presented by councillor Mark Bowditch and accepted by Tara Jeans.
Councillor Rod Scholes presented an Open award to the Muswellbrook RSL Sub-Branch Vietnam Memorial team, which was accepted by Sub Branch president Tim Seymor, vice president Peter Houlahan and secretary Robyn Medcalf.
An Open Award was presented by councillor Jennifer Lecky to Roohaven Wildlife owner operators Julie and Brad Smith.
Our two newest citizens, Mary Ngapua Collingwood and Eiko Faletausala Fuimaono received a traditional brushing down from Uncle Glen Morris after they took their oath.
Muswellbrook Shire Concert Band performed throughout the Australia Day Service.