Locals eye Aberdeen Cup win


Crowds will be gathering at Skellatar Park this Sunday for the Aberdeen Cup Day.

Many racegoers will be hoping for another local victory in the main race after Scone trainer Jeremy Gask witnessed jockey Reece Jones ride Tim’s Principal to victory in last year’s race.

Previous Aberdeen Cup winners include Ranges (2021) for Snowden Racing and Tommy Berry as well as Joy For Us (2020) for Kim Waugh.

MEANWHILE the Newcastle and Hunter Racing Hall of Fame inducted eight well-deserved inductees, recognising and honouring outstanding achievements in the Thoroughbred Industry.

Ortensia, trained by Paul Messara, and three-time Group 1 winner Samantha Miss, trained by Kris Lees, were inducted as were trainers Neville Begg and Clarry Conners.

Jim Pike and Albert Shannon were the latest two jockeys to be inducted while associates Ray Mahony and John Messara AM were also recognised.