Dordie Takes Out her First Scones Championship

On a great day for golf on Thursday August 17, Dordie Bragg shot the round of the day with 80 to secure her first Scone Golf Club singles championship.

In a head to head battle with defending champion Lyn Banks, which came down to the last putt on the last hole, Dordie prevailed by one shot.

She also had the best nett round of the day with 68 to win the daily prize sponsored by Wendy Clift on a countback from both Kathy Robinson and Leanda Nutt. Kathy won the runner up prize from Plants on Main also on a countback.

In Division 2 Leanda Nutt also had a fine round of 94 to win her first Division 2 Championship by ten shots to runner up Kathy Robinson. It was a great day for Leanda as she also won the overall nett championship, the Jean Byrnes Salver, with a score of 207 and the Doris Ham Veterans trophy. Noreen Marshall also had a great day winning her seventh Division 3 Championship, her fourth in a row, by six shots to runner up Nickie Cramsie.

The Divisional nett winners were Dordie Bragg (Div 1) and Judy Collison (Div 3). In the daily competition balls were won by Dordie Bragg, Kathy Robinson, Leanda Nutt 68, Judy Collison 71, Cheryl Clydsdale 72 and Lyn Banks 73 nett and Dordie Bragg also won the NTP on the 8th.

The Scone men played the Foursomes Championships on Sunday, August 20, in ideal golfing conditions. Contested in three divisions the Champions for 2023 were A Grade, Wes Boyd & Matt Hobbs 72 from runners up Mac Dawson & Jake Teague 76. The B Grade winners were George Campbell & Col Solway 88 from both pairs Charlie Manning & Paul Smart and Steve Morse & Alan Wood, four shots behind. The C Grade winners were Neil Clydsdale &Sid Collison 104.

The Ross and Lyn Banks sponsored nett prize was won by Col Solway & George Campbell 71 and balls were won by them and Charlie Wintle & Ross Banks 73, Wes Boyd & Matt Hobbs 73.5, Jake Teague & Mac Dawson 75, Michael Robinson & Michael Morton 76.5 nett.

On Saturday August 19, an 18 Hole Individual & 2B Stableford sponsored by The O’Donnell Family was played on lot heavier course following the Friday rain. Thirty eight players also battled windy conditions with Bardy Badenhorst & Mac Dawson with 43 points being the 2Ball winners. The individual winner was Mick Reynolds who had 37 points and the runner up on a countback was John Roe with 36 points. Ball were won by these players plus Steve Morse 36, Jim Hobbs 35, Michael Robinson 35, Barb Hobbs 34, David Adams 34, Sid Collison 34, Jono Keep 34, Kyle Smith 32, Mac Dawson 32, Tim Smith 32, Mick Alsleben 32, Alan Wood 31 points on a countback from 4 others.

The fortunate Domino’s Pizza NTP winners were: Mick Soper 3.47 metres on the 4th, Mick Reynolds 0.94 metres (Jackpot) on the 8th, Mac Dawson 7.41 metres on the 13th and Peter Teague 3.69 metres on the 17th.

The final of the Snyman Four Ball Knockout was also played on Saturday with Jeff Harrington and Tony O’Neill getting up in a very close match 1up over Matt Langan and Mick Soper.

The best round in the weekly 18 Hole Medley Stableford concluding Friday August 18, was by Paul McLoughlin who had 37 points. Along with the winner’s voucher he also won a ball along with Andrew Parry-Okeden, Will Druitt, Graham White, Jono Keep, Fiona Simson 35, Cath Payne and Craig McLeod 34 points.

Twelve Scone ladies supported the Murrurundi ladies Open Day on Saturday August 18 in typical cold and windy conditions. Lyn Banks and Kerry McLennan won the Scratch event in the 4BBB and Nickie Cramsie partnering local Steph Mostyn was the runner up in the 4BBB stbleford.

This week many of the ladies will compete in the 2 day NSW Womens Veterans Association event held at Muswellbrook. On Monday they will play a 4BBB Stableford and on Tuesday an 18 Hole Stableford.

In this week’s golf at Scone on Thursday August 24 the ladies will play in the weekly competition, the event on Saturday August 26 will be an 18 Hole Stableford sponsored by Liz and Paul Smart. As usual golfers can get more games in the weekly competition concluding on Friday August 25.

Scone Ladies Golf Championship results:  Club Champion and Division 1 Champion: Dordie Bragg 248 (83/85/80) Runner up: Lyn Banks 249 (85/83/81) Division 2 Champion: Leanda Nutt 285 (99/92/94) Runner Up: Kathy Robinson 295 (107/95/93) C/B from Judy Carmody. Division 3 Champion: Noreen Marshall 330 (115/107/108) Runner Up: Nickie Cramsie 336 (115/108/113) Jean Byrnes Salver (Nett Best over 54 holes based on the starting handicap) Winner: Leanda Nutt 207 (73/66/68) Runner up: Dordie Bragg 209 (70/72/67) (L. Nutt winner from Div 2 nett) Division 1 Nett Winner: Dordie Bragg 209 (70/72/67) Runner Up: Julie Leckie 223 (74/73/76) Division 3 Nett Winner: Judy Collison 222 (77/74/71) Runner Up: Noreen Marshall 231 (82/74/75) Doris Ham Memorial Veterans Trophy (From the aggregate of the daily nett scores) Winner: Leanda Nutt 207 (73/66/68) Runner Up: Dodie Bragg 211 (70/73/68)